Student Organizations & Governance

Find a host of rich, rewarding opportunities to participate in student-led organizations, both here and abroad.

Honor Societies

Sigma Theta Tau International, nursing honor society - Beta Kappa Chapter

Student Governance

Graduate Nursing Student Organization (GNSO)

Nursing Student Council (NSC)

The NSC is comprised of officers of the Student Association, the class presidents, and a chairperson elected by the student body and is responsible for all student functions within the School.

School of Nursing Governance

Students serve on a variety of standing committees with faculty and peers, including:

  • BSN program committee
  • MSN-DNP programs committee
  • Diversity committee


UVA-wide governance

Non-Affiliated Student Organizations

Diversity in Nursing for a Better Community

Multiculturalism in Nursing Today (MINT)

Men Advancing Nursing (MAN)

Nursing Students without Borders

Student Nurse Association of Virginia (SNAV)

Nursing Christian Fellowship


 Non-Affiliation Statement for Student Organizations

Although these organizations have members who are UVA students and may have University employees associated or engaged in their activities and affairs, the organizations are not a part of or an agency of the University. They are separate and independent organizations that are responsible for and manage their own activities and affairs. The University does not direct, supervise, or control the organizations and is not responsible for the organizations' contracts, acts, or omissions.