The 2018 McGehee Lecture, with Susan Hassmiller, RN, PhD, FAAN, of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

McLeod Auditorium
April 17, 2018 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Organized By: Nurs-Web Calendar


Please join us for the annual McGehee Lecture, which this year will feature a lecture from Susan Hassmiller, RN, PhD, FAAN, senior advisor for nursing and director of the Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.


In her work, Hassmiller -- who also serves as co-director of the RJWF Future of Nursing Scholars Program – shapes and leads the foundation’s nursing strategies to improve the quality of care offered in the US, ensuring that Americans can live healthy lives supported by systems that view nurses as essential partners in providing care and promoting health. The Future of Nursing campaign is guided by the National Academy of Science’s “Future of Nursing” report, and the scholarship program offers funding, mentoring, and leadership development and post doctoral research funding to build the leadership capacity of nurse educators and researchers.


Before working at RWJF, Hassmiller was executive director of the US Public Health Services Primary Care Policy Fellowship at the Health Resources and Services Administration. She also worked in public health settings at the local and state level, and taught community health nursing at the University of Nebraska and George Mason University. A volunteer with the Red Cross, and a member of its board, Hassmiller served as national chair of the 9-11 recovery program and is currently a member of the National Nursing Committee, past-board chair for the Central New Jersey Red Cross.


A member of the National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, a member of the Joint Commission’s National Nurse Advisory Council, Hackensack Meridian Health System’s board, and the CMS national nurse steering committee, Hassmiller is also the 2009 recipient of the Florence Nightingale Medal, the highest international honor given to a nurse by the International Committee of the Red Cross.