Alumni Council of the School of Nursing Alumni Association

2016 Alumni Award recipients The School of Nursing Alumni Association (SONAA) was founded in 1916, fifteen years after the School of Nursing was established.  Nursing graduates from all degree and certificate programs are automatically considered members upon graduation. The Alumni Council is the leadership body of the SONAA. The Council operates according to the Alumni Association Bylaws.  The Alumni Council also has a number of standing, working committees that seek volunteers for short and long-term commitments:

  • School of Nursing Young Alumni (SONYA)
  • Awards Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Scholarships Committee
  • Communications Committee 

The SONAA is pleased to make a number of resources available to SON students, faculty, staff, and fellow alumni:

  • Scholarships for current students and alumni.
  • Awards recognizing faculty and alumni.
  • Grier Medical Assistance Fund to support alumni in need. 

For more information, contact the Alumni & Development Office at (434) 924-0138 or   


Alumni Council Officers
President - Judy Etheridge Bilicki (BSN '81)
President-elect - Christa E. Janowski Hartch (BSN '97)
Vice President - Amanda Caroline Faircloth (BSN '00)
Alumni Engagement Coordinator, Volunteer Outreach – Sue Andresen Winslow (MSN ‘87, DNP ‘13)
Alumni Engagement Coordinator, SON Young Alumni (SONYA) - Page Dunbar (BSN '11, current FNP student)
Alumni Engagement Coordinator, Special Projects - Carleen Barnocky Kelley (BSN '81)
Awards Coordinator -  Sara Wassel (BSN ‘09, MSN-FNP ‘14)
Communications Coordinator – Matt Lemieux (MSN-CNL ‘11, PNP ‘15)
Finance Coordinator - Sandra Reed-Bryant (BSN '78, MSN '86)
Scholarships Coordinator - Linda Smith Halpin (BSN '75)
Faculty Representative - Rebecca Harmon (PhD '03), Staunton, VA
Student Representative – Alice Xie (BSN '17)